Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have been watching this book since it came out in April 2016. My book club of science fiction and fantasy geeks loved this book! The book in its entirety is a fast read with a very interesting method of story telling. The book is a series of interviews with various characters hosted by a mystery interviewer who’s identity is not known by the reader or the characters.
Most of my book club peers read this book in one or two sittings due to their inability to put it down once they began. The characters are interesting and each “file” (which act as chapters) has a new twist/set of information.
I loved this book even if most of the characters weren’t super relatable to me personally (a 20 year old college student that isn’t a science-fiction junkie). My book club peers that read a lot of Sci-Fi declared their interests to lie with the mystery interviewer and the format of storytelling.
Parent Guide: This book would be wonderful for any one 13+ or of mature age. Their is some choice language that should be considered for a younger audience, but it is not a prominent element of the story. There is also a “love scene” between two characters with the girl attached to robot controls, so she has not use of her arms, and they do the naughty while she is in that position. There is not much violence or gore, but there is plain accidents, car accidents, and some death. Topics of politics and foreign relations are covered, so I would say the book is fairly educational in that sense.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Sci-Fi, Young Adult Fiction, or Fantasy. This book is highly recommended for those that enjoyed The Martian.
I genuinely enjoyed Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel”

Leave a comment